Home » Fugitive Anne, a Romance of the Unexplored Bush by Rosa Praed
Fugitive Anne, a Romance of the Unexplored Bush Rosa Praed

Fugitive Anne, a Romance of the Unexplored Bush

Rosa Praed

Published February 1st 2012
ISBN : 9781604446609
Paperback
260 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Rosa Campbell Praed (27 March 1851 - 10 April 1935), often credited as Mrs Campbell Praed (and also known as Rosa Caroline Praed), was an Australian novelist in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Her large bibliography covered multiple genres, and books for children as well as adults. She has been described as the first Australian novelist to achieve a significant international reputation. (wikipedia.org) In Fugitive Anne, Anne Bedo is unhappily married. Her husband, Elias, is an abusive drunk who cruelly mistreats her, and she decides she cant take it any more. While traveling by ship, Anne decides to make her escape. Making it appear as though she has gone mad and thrown herself overboard, she instead disembarks in disguise with her friend, the Aboriginal youth Kombo. Anne and Kombo venture through dangerous, unexplored country, braving the murderous tribes and cannibals, as she seeks to put distance between herself and her persecutor. During her travels, she meets up with Danish explorer Eric Hansen, and together, they make an astonishing discovery. Deep in the Australian wilderness lives a tribe of Red Men, the Aca, part of the ancient Mayan race. Can Anne, Eric, and Kombo survive the myriad threats posed by savage cannibals, the Acas Death-Stone, and the vengeance of Elias Bedo? A lost race adventure novel in the tradition of H. Rider Haggard, Rosa Praeds Fugitive Anne (1902) also confronts important issues of the day, including colonialism and the difficulties faced by women trapped in bad marriages.